HTML / CSS Good Practices

So it’s been a while since I’ve written any (good) HTML. Partly because it’s been so long, and partly because I spend a large portion of my days writing HTML tables at the moment, I thought I would give myself a quick refresh (translation: a quick google) before diving in again. I also remember that there were some “good practice” rules that I never quite established the importance of first time round, so there were a few areas which I wanted to revisit. Specifically these were:

Class vs. ID – when to use which

  • Floating elements – and the effect this has on inline and block elements
  • Relative positioning
  • Browser compatibility

Class vs. ID

I know that an ID is unique whereas a class can be used more than once. A person has a unique ID but there can be many people in a class. Anyway that much is simple. But (aside from the names themselves), why is this the case, and when is best to use each? CSS Tricks is helpful for the why, and this I did not know before: the hash value in the ID allows you to automatically navigate to the element with that ID. This goes a long way to explain why the ID has to be unique. As for when is best to use each, I have consulted the wisdom of my developer Jedi master and will follow his convention. Use classes for style and IDs for JavaScript. This is the easiest way to separate style from structure and allows for the progressive enhancement (to quote directly from Ade) as you can build your presentation layer using class attributes, and then add to this with additional behaviours using IDs. In this way both designers and developers can add to the markup simultaneously without worrying about breaking things. The exception to this is when you want to apply behaviour to multiple elements. There is no way around using class here, but by making a second distinction – hyphens for classes and CamelCase for ids, you can keep the separation to a certain extent by making the behaviour class you need to add CamelCase. Perhaps not perfect, but this is simple and clean and some convention must certainly be followed. I will adhere to this from this point on.

Floating elements

Ah floats… I had forgotten how annoying they can be – even before browser compatibility is taken into consideration. I thought I had this down, but one of the first things I have just done when writing HTML from scratch is try to float a div left and then stick an inline list inside it. All sorts of padding was suddenly added by my browser which I did not want at all, so I had to go back to the drawing board. Perhaps the most important thing to remember when floating anything is that you must specify a width on the floated element – or anything can happen.

Relative Positioning

To me this feels a little bit like a hack and I feel guilty about doing it. This is partly because I think that whatever you are trying to do should always be possible with floats, and mixing the two feels like cheating. However today I had to use relative positioning and could not think of any better way to do it. The scenario: An image (which will change in the future), with a headline laid over the top with a semi-opaque background to the headline (headline will also change to correspond to the image). My solution: split up into three separate elements – one for each part – the image, the headline background (of specific height and color and an opacity of 0.6), and the headline (which can’t be part of it’s background as it needs to be solid). The headline background is then relatively positioned on top of the image, then the headline over the top of that. Then everything that naturally comes below this needs to be shifted up using relative positioning too (as the space required for the initial position of the elements remains. That’s a lot of relative positioning. Is there a better way of doing things? Probably. Have I found it yet? No. Ideas on a postcard please.

Browser Compatibility

Luckily this latest project does not have to be IE6 compatible. Unfortunately I am not happy with the idea of building a web page that will not render properly for some users. It’s the sort of thing that will keep me awake at night. IE6 usage is down to just over six per cent as of August 2010, but it is still the officially supported browser within many British workplaces (apparently including my own). So although it is perhaps not necessary, I feel the need to ensure my HTML renders correctly in IE6 (or almost at least!) And this usually leads to lots of little hacks using the *html cheat. In my defense I do use this as a last resort when I have tried everything else I can think of. The double margin bug is by far the worst culprit – full details found on cssnewbie.com. Anyway I feel a bit like I generally spend too much time browser testing at the end and that this certainly isn’t the best way to do things. Luckily in this instance it seems that most browsers rendered my pages in the same way.

What this has taught me

I did a code review with some senior web developers a while ago and it really opened my eyes to how important it is to do things properly. This is particularly crucial when you’re learning. I tend to make the classic young enthusiast mistake and dive straight in without taking the time to consider the best way to do things. I just want to get things done and see immediate results. In my maturity (or something like that…) I have realised this is not always the best way to learn, and that a balance is needed between jumping in with guns blazing, and taking time to think and re-think things through first.

About RNewstead

I am learning every day. Sometimes I worry there are too many interesting things in the world and not enough time.
This entry was posted in Web Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HTML / CSS Good Practices

  1. Luke Hall says:

    A few tips that might help you work around your relative positioning issue:

    If you can get away with using background images then you only really need two sections and you can do away with setting the position attribute completely. Specify the size in pixels in both cases. Add your main image as the div element background. Use a one pixel square semi-transparent PNG image for the h1 background image and set any style changes you want for the text (I hope the HTML entities work in the code I’m writing below, apologies if they don’t!)

    <div id="header">
    <h1>This is the Page Title!</h1>
    </div>

    #header {height:IMAGE-HEIGHTpx; width:IMAGE-WIDTHpx; background:url("MAIN-BG-IMAGE-URL");}
    #header h1 {height:IMAGE-HEIGHTpx; background:url("SEMI-TRANSPARENT-PNG-URL"); color:#fff;}

Leave a Reply

